Prettiest Pie 2010-It’s a Two-Peat

Victory is sweet!

It's still a winner!

For the second year in a row I took home “Prettiest Pie” at Enid’s Apple Pie Contest.  I guess my pie success really hasn’t been a fluke.

It's also pretty on the inside.

There were fewer pies in contention this year, but the competition was still pretty fierce. I went with judge Harry Roseblum’s advice and used a tried and tested recipe: Apple Black Crystal Pie.

I’m happy to report that some of the big honors went to folks I know and have competed with before. Michael Stewart and Charlie Mirisola brought home the big prize with this Bourbon Butter Apple Pie.

I wish I got to try it, but it was gone in a jiffy.

FYI, Michael once made an epic Peter Pan Donut Pudding Pie that is now all the rage in Germany (seriously).

There is also a donut INSIDE of the pie.

Now I’ve got 12 months to come up with a new way to wow the judges. Maybe next year I’ll even place for taste!

I’ll post more soon, but for now I’d like to give a big shout-out to the awesome judges. They put a lot of effort into tasting and ranking all of the pies. I stole a peek at one of the judging forms and was really impressed with all of the elements they took into consideration for each pie (and I’m not divulging their secrets). You can check out more about some of the judges here:
Harry Rosenblum of the Brooklyn Kitchen.
Matt Tilden of the delicious Scratchbread.
Michael Harlan Turkell of epic photography excellence and Edible Brooklyn.
Einat Imber and Erin Dieboll who make art and devour pies on the regular.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

